Parish Councils

West Lancashire has 19 Parish Councils, 1 Town Council and 1Parish meeting. These cover all of the borough except for Ormskirk and Skelmersdale.

Parish Councils are the first tier of local government, serving the residents of the parish. They are comprised of councillors who serve for a four year term of office. The Parish Councils cater for the local needs of their residents and generally employ a part time Clerk to implement decisions. The Parish Council is financed by raising a small levy on all residential properties within a parish.

The powers of Parish Councils include the provision and maintenance of parks, and they play an important role in ensuring that the views of residents are heard on issues such as planning and public transport.

Parish Charter

The West Lancashire Parish Charter sets out a number of ways that the Borough Council and Parish Councils can work in partnership with each other for the benefit of local people, while recognising the respective responsibilities of each organisation.


Contact your Parish Council

To contact your local Parish Council, please use the links below.

Visit Lancashire County Council (external link) for information on Parish and town councils.